Week #1

upmc_building

Hey guys!  I created this blog to keep you up to date on my life in Pittsburgh this summer.  I am a Finance Summer Associate in the Enterprise Accounting Department at UPMC.

Time flies when you are having fun.  My team is great and I have the pleasure of working with Juniata alum Rob Strauss on a daily basis.  So far, I have used my skills to work with an expense package, where we analyzed variances and search for cost reduction opportunties in areas such as legal services, consulting services, and marketing and advertising.  I have also had the opportunity prepare our financial statements for May close.  The amount of executive exposure that we get is truly unique.  On my first day, we went to a Pirates game, where we had the opportunity to interact with our CFO, numerous directors, managers, and fellow summer associates.  That’s tough to come by… especially when you work for the largest employer in Pennsylvania.

More to come about weekend fun as I explore the city!  Be sure to tune in!

Leave a Reply

